Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Carolyn Radford is League Two CEO of the Year

18 October 2019

Chief executive officer Carolyn Radford has been named as Sky Bet League Two's CEO of the Year for 2019 in the Football Business Awards.

Mrs Radford has won the award for her outstanding running of the club, which has seen an increase in revenue and an upsurge in home attendances, amongst other achievements.

She has also been nominated for the overall CEO of the Year award, the winner of which will be announced next month.

The finalists for the fcbusiness CEO of the Year Award sponsored by Reznor are: Peter Moore (Liverpool FC), Mark Ashton (Bristol City FC), Gary Sweet (Luton Town), Carolyn Radford (Mansfield Town) and Alan Burrows (Motherwell).

The CEO from each league has been nominated by a panel at fcbusiness for their leadership throughout the 2018/19 season and is now shortlisted for the overall CEO of the Year prize. Each winner will receive their award at a glitzy ceremony on 28th November at City Central at the HAC in London before the overall winner is announced on the night.

Recognising the valuable contribution of the game’s executives in the UK has seen fcbusiness present the CEO of the Year Award each year since 2012, with winners including the likes of; Ian Ayre (Liverpool), David Baldwin (Burnley FC), Daniel Levy (Tottenham Hotspur), Ivan Gazidis (Arsenal), Karren Brady (West Ham United), Mark Catlin, (Portsmouth) and Tony Scholes (Stoke City) to name a few.

Speaking of the nominations, fcbusiness Editor and Football Business Awards judge, Aaron Gourley, said: “This year’s CEO of the Year sponsored by Reznor represents the very best in football business. The five divisional winners are without doubt the best in their leagues and have shown outstanding leadership over the course of the 2018/19 season.

“The pressure on football clubs each year to improve both on and off the pitch calls for leadership of the highest level and these five nominees represent that. The CEO of the Year award is one of the most prized in football and through their hard work and dedication each of the nominees has led their respective clubs to achieve outstanding performances both on and off the pitch.”

 Richard Leese, Managing Director UK & Belgium for CEO of the Year sponsor, Reznor, said: “Reznor are proud to sponsor the CEO of the Year awards, celebrating the very best of football, recognising their commitment and dedication on and off the pitch.

Simon Burton, founder of the Football Business Awards, added: “Football clubs aren’t just businesses - they are global brands and community assets. It takes a special type of leadership to steer them and we are delighted to celebrate these wonderful CEO’s at the Football Business Awards.”


Chief executive officer Carolyn Radford said: "I am honoured to be named as the CEO of the Year for Sky Bet League Two.

"The award recognises the club's off-the-field achievements, which have been designed and implemented to enhance our supporters' matchday experience as well as our ambition for the football club to become a seven-day-a-week community hub.

"Making significant progress is always at the forefront of our focus at Mansfield Town, and I am privileged to be surrounded by a talent team, who implement our strategy with diligence and high standards.

"We strive to be better every day, as one united team, on and off the field," she added.

Over 500 senior decision-makers from the football industry will attend the black tie event in the heart of London, making the awards the perfect networking opportunity in the football calendar. 

Table sales are open for those interested in attending the event. For more information on individual places or group bookings, please visit


fcbusiness CEO of the Year sponsored by Reznor finalists:

Premier League CEO of the Year – Peter Moore, Liverpool FC

Championship CEO of the Year – Mark Ashton, Bristol City FC

League One CEO of the Year – Gary Sweet, Luton Town FC

League Two CEO of the Year – Carolyn Radford, Mansfield Town FC

SPFL CEO of the Year – Alan Burrows, Motherwell FC

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account