Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Stags announce retained list

10 May 2017

Mansfield Town manager Steve Evans has today announced his players’ retained and released list in preparation for season 2017-18.

Speaking to the gaffer said: “Following a thorough process I have met with each of my players and told each of them face-to-face of my decision in relation to their respective contracts.

“On Monday evening I also met with my chairman and chief executive to discuss my rationale for each decision. It was fair to say that we agreed on the way forward and the decisions have now been implemented.


Rhys Bennett
Mal Benning
Joel Byrom
CJ Hamilton
Alex MacDonald
Krystian Pearce
Alfie Potter
Danny Rose
George Taft
Jack Thomas


Yoann Arquin
James Baxendale
Lee Collins
Matt Green
Ashley Hemmings
Kevan Hurst
Pat Hoban
Brian Jensen
Jamie McGuire
Scott Shearer
Corbin Shires

The gaffer has further confirmed that midfielder Jamie McGuire is considering an offer to join the under 21 coaching staff. At this stage, no timescale for a decision has been announced, but it is envisaged that the offer will be accepted.

In summary, the manager said: “I would, on behalf of everyone, like to wish all the released players every success at their new clubs and hope all the players enjoy a pleasant summer.

“No decision was easy and was made simply for the benefit of the team, as it should always be.

The manager added: “Mike Whitlow (U21s’ head coach) and John Dempster (academy manager) will later this week announce the plans for the youngsters at under 21 and academy level.”

"Furthermore, our pre-season schedule has been completed and will be announced in the next few days."

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account